Peer review

  • FACET Peer Review

    FACET offers a unique advantage in the Peer Review process. FACET Peer Reviewers would most likely not ever be in the position of serving on tenure or promotion committees for the person requesting there view. The ‘coach’ or Peer Reviewer is either a retired FACET member or assigned from a campus different than the home campus of the person requesting the review.

  • Formative Peer Review
    • Coaching
    • One-on-one partnership focused on improving a particular aspect of teaching or a particular strategy
    • Not a full peer review
    • The number and frequency of meetings (face-to-face, through email, videoconference, telephone) will be determined by the coach and the person requesting the review
    • On going feedback during the coaching process is used to modify teaching
    • Formative Peer Review
    • Formative peer reviews are a low-risk method of improving teaching that is completely confidential
    • Peer Review Report is provided only to the person requesting the Peer Review
    • Formative peer reviews are more comprehensive than coaching in that an overall evaluation of a course is provided
    • Formative peer reviews result in both feedback and recommendations for future teaching improvements
  • Summative Peer Review
    • Useful for building a case for excellence in teaching, especially on those campuses where such a review might be considered as an 'outside' letter
    • Useful for teaching award applications
    • Peer Review Report is provided to the person requesting the Peer Review and others, as dictated by the person requesting the Peer Review and the purpose of the review, i.e., promotion and tenure, teaching award, etc
  • Badges@IU Pilot: Advanced Level (Gold) Badge Peer Review

    FACET, in partnership with the Learning Technologies division of UITS, will support faculty in obtaining the Advanced Level (Gold) badges by providing peer reviews of your badge materials. To learn more about the Badges@IU pilot, visit

Peer Reviewers

Jon Becker, IU Northwest, Senior Lecturer
Cathy Borshuk, IU South Bend
Lisa Contino, IUPUI
Nancy Wootton Colborn, IU South Bend
Susan Cress, IU South Bend
Marcia Dixson, IPFW
Ken Douglas, IU South Bend
Rob Elliott, IUPUI
Marcia Holland, IU South Bend (Formative only)
Sharon Jones, IU South Bend
Gary Kern, IU South Bend, Associate Professor, Decision Sciences
Vincci Kwong, IU South Bend (Formative Only)
Deb Marr, IU South Bend (Formative Only)
Gywnn Mettetal, IU South Bend
Katie Metz, IUB, Senior Lecturer
Robin Morgan, IU Southeast
Susan Moore, IU South Bend
Michael Morrone, IUB, Senior Lecturer
Jerry Powers, IUPUI (Retired, No online classes)
Mary Elizabeth Riner, IU Bloomington (Formative Only)
Caren Rossow, IU South Bend
Julie Saam, IU Kokomo
Carolyn Schult, IU South Bend (Formative Only)
Stephanie Scifres, IUPUC
Kate Thedwall, IUPUI
Randy Thrall, IU South Bend, Associate Faculty, Management
Dave Vollrath, IU South Bend
Barbara White, IU South Bend
Roxanne Wolfram, IU South Bend
Yvonne Zubovic, IPFW
Lisa Fetheringill Zwicker, IU South Bend

Differences between FACET review and Quality Matters review

Please note that since the inception of FACET’s peer review training and program, IU Online has committed to peer review of online course design using the Quality Matters (QM) rubric. You should note significant differences between FACET peer reviews and QM reviews:

1. FACET reviews are available for different teaching modalities, online, hybrid, and face to face.

2. FACET reviews are broader than QM reviews. Whereas QM reviews focus on course design standards, FACET reviews consider course design AND application of best practices in teaching and learning during a course.

3. FACET provides both formative and summative peer reviews depending on what’s requested.