Robin Hass-Birky Keynote

The Annual Hass-Birky Keynote Address honors Robin Hass-Birky, who passed away in 2008, for her dedication to the scholarship of teaching and learning. She was an administrator and faculty member in the Department of English at IUN and was inducted into FACET in 2000. Her contributions to education are recognized throughout Indiana University and this Lectureship honors her dedication and commitment.  Robin was especially sensitive to the needs and interests of associate faculty and spoke at this occasion in 2007.

The Inaugural Lecture was first delivered at the 2009 Associate Faculty and Lecturers’ Conference.  Each year, the recipient of this distinction will receive a modest honorarium and will travel to present topics of relevance to teaching and learning supported by associate faculty and lecturers.


Hass-Birky Keynote Lecturers

2022 - Peter Felten, Elon University

2021 - Jessica Calarco, IU Bloomington

2020 - Robin Morgan, IU Southeast

2019 - George Mehaffy, American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU)

2018 - Gwynn Mettetal, IU South Bend 

2017 - Kevin Clark, George Mason University

2016 - Jon Becker, IU Northwest

2015 - Paul Hernandez, Lansing Community College

2014 - Constance Staley, University of Colorado - Colorado Springs

2013 - Todd Zakrajsek, University of North Carolina

2012 - Lori Montalbano, Governor's State University

2011 - Marcia Dixson, Purdue Fort Wayne

2010 - Jay Howard, Butler University

2009 - Charles "Chuck" Gallmeier, IU Northwest

Back to Top