2018 (2018-2020)

The 2018 Leadership Institute Kickoff
September 28, 2018

 Multiple Inequalities in Higher Education:
How do we meet our students’ needs if we fail to understand the problems and students lack universal access to resources? 

Research suggests that about 61% of students enrolled at four-year public universities like ours graduate within 150 percent (6 years) of the expected graduation time. This leaves roughly 40% of students without the benefits of higher education, and often saddled with debt. The truth is that marginalized, vulnerable, and at-risk students encounter inequalities in higher education not generally faced by those who enter college with a support system in place. Some students go hungry on a regular basis, while others are faced with personal and/or intrafamily addiction, both of which affect student success and/or ability to complete college. Other challenges might include marginalization due to sexual orientation, gender, race, or ethnicity; income inequality; or homelessness to name a few. It is our responsibility to ensure that all students have the opportunity to pursue and complete their academic journey. Addressing these issues from the individual campus’ perspective can result in desired changes to our educational institutions that promote overall student success.

View the 2018-2020 Kickoff Agenda

Crystal Walcott, walcottc@iupuc.edu

Kevin Jones, joneskn@iupuc.edu

Lori Montalbano, lmontal@iupuc.edu

Sridhar Ramachandran, sriramac@ius.edu

Jennifer ORtiz, jmortiz@ius.edu

Sumreen Asim, sasim@ius.edu

Adam Booth, bootha@iu.edu

Sau Hou Chang, sauchang@ius.edu

Adam Maksl, amaksl@ius.edu

Bernadette Jessie, bfolson@ius.edu

Lisa Russell (advisory capacity)

Stephen Buttes, buttess@pfw.edu

Craig Hill, hillc@pfw.edu

Michelle Kearl, kearlm@pfw.edu

Pam Reese, reesepg@pfw.edu

Eric Tippmann, tippmane@pfw.edu

Lee Kahan, lkahan@iusb.edu

Ann Grens, agrens@iusb.edu

Kathy Ritchie, kritchie@iusb.edu

Sharon Jones, jones240@iusb.edu

Micah Pollack, mpollak@iun.edu

Tin-Chun Lin, tinlin@iun.edu

Linda Galocy, lgalocy@iun.edu

Maria Young, mariyoung@iun.edu

David Parnell, parnelld@iun.edu

Yuanying (Michelle) Guan, guany@iun.edu

Scooter Pegram, spegram@iun.edu

Josette Jones, jofjones@iupui.edu

Hazim El-Mounayri, helmouna@iupui.edu

Patricia Snell Herzog, psherzog@iupui.edu

Kathy Berlin, kberlin@iu.edu

Katie McCarthy, mccartka@iupui.edu

Amy Bayliss, ajbaylis@iun.edu

Cindy Bemis, cmbemis@iu.edu

Tammi Nelson, tamlnels@iupui.edu

David Smiley, dasmiley@indiana.edu

Clark Barwick, mbarwick@indiana.edu

Katie Metz, kmetz@indiana.edu

Sandra Ortiz, ortizs@indiana.edu

Allen Davis, kadavis2@indiana.edu

Natalia Rybas, natrybas@iue.edu

Paula Baumann, pkbauman@indiana.edu

Margaret Thomas-Evans, malothom@indiana.edu

Jaynne Rivas, jarivas@iu.edu

TJ Rivard, trivard@iue.edu

Michelle Malott, mimalott@iue.edu

Beau Shine, shineb@iuk.edu

Karla Stouse, kfstouse@iuk.edu

Chris Darr, darrc@iuk.edu

Gloria Preece, gpreece@iuk.edu

Keynote Speaker 

President for Amarillo CollegeDr. Russell D. Lowery-Hart, will provide a special presentation during the event. Dr. Lowery-Hart was selected into the inaugural class of the Aspen Presidential Fellowship for Community College Excellence, a rigorous, executive leadership program focused on higher education reform led by the Aspen Institute and the Stanford University. His leadership on poverty and culture change was featured in The Atlantic (June 2018). His leadership is focused on improving student success through systemic and cultural change. He was named the National Academic Leader of the Year for 2014. He received his Ph.D. from Ohio University; MA in from Texas Tech; and BS from West Texas A&M University.

View his presentation (CAS authentication required)

Back to Top